Beauty is Deeper than the Skin


A few mornings ago I stopped by the corner gas station for my usual morning cup of coffee. I was running late and had left my Makeup bag at the office the day before. My hair was still wet and my face looked tired and plain. As I handed my payment to the Cashier (a wonderful woman who I refer to mentally as Miss Betty), I commented on how terrible I looked that morning. She stopped, looked at me, then replied “Honey, real beauty is beneath the surface. You don’t need all that make-up, you just think you do. Beauty takes years of practice, it’s who you are, not what you wear on your face.” As I mumbled an “Uh-Huh…” she went on to add: “You are naturally beautiful, you just don’t know it yet. Your eyes are clear.” I think I may have managed to say thank you before I rushed out the door, still half asleep.

 Her words have been in my head ever since. I cannot help but ponder the concept that Beauty, true Beauty, is deep within our character. The most beautiful people I know are not size 2 with blonde hair and flawless skin! They are people who gives of themselves generously and without looking for anything in return. People who love unconditionally and with all of themselves… even when it hurts. People who put others above themselves. These are the people who I find to be the most beautiful. People with “clear eyes” and an open heart, full of love.

Beauty takes years of practice, it’s who you are, not what you wear on your face!

May we all strive to become beautiful people on the inside; spending just as much time developing our inner character as we do in making ourselves to good-looking on the outside!

One thought on “Beauty is Deeper than the Skin

Leave a Reply

